You Are Here: Home » Featured » Practice What You Preach

Practice What You Preach

Travel suitcase

BY PRISCILA POWELL
STAFF COLUMNIST

As a travel professional, I am always educating my clients on the importance of travel insurance. Travel insurance is a vital part of vacation planning, as it protects your monetary investment in the face of the unknown. If a child becomes ill, a flight is cancelled leaving you in Antigua a few extra days, or you and your boo suddenly split and you simply no longer want to go anywhere with them, travel insurance is great because you get all or a portion of your travel budget returned. Also, people’s expectations can be all over the place, insurance alleviates much of those burdens. However, as with most professionals, I am a travel agent’s worst nightmare as I never take my own advice.

I have been thrust into the midst of interview season. I’ve had two promising interviews in the last two weeks for an exciting promotion. As I type, I’m peeping out the corner of my eye expecting the phone to light up, ringing to schedule a third interview. With all the mind racing thoughts that go along with the interview process: what to wear, shall I straighten my hair, red lipstick or neutral. The thought at the forefront of my mind is, what am I going to do if they hire me for one of these positions and don’t approve my vacation leave? If you’re as quick to the draw, as I hope you are, you’ve guessed by now that I didn’t purchase travel insurance.